Safari 4 (and Sakai)

>As soon as I found out about the Safari 4 Beta, I just had to have it. I love shiny new stuff! And Safari 4 certainly is shiny – and fast… it flies along on my Mac!

I quite like the Top Sites feature, where all of your most heavily visited sites are all visible on one screen with preview images of each. And just noticed that you can have preview images of your bookmarks/history and flip through them like the Album Art in iTunes.

There are heaps more features I’m yet to explore though, full list here:
One thing really note-worthy is when I saw the CSS Animation stuff and how easy it is to implement, that was awesome! Images floating down the page as separate entities, rotating and bending around just like leaves falling from a tree in autumn all controlled via a few CSS properties.


Pretty neat, although it’ll be a million years before Internet Explorer implements anything like this considering there’s not even native rounded corner support in IE7. My burning desire is to be able to design the UI of webapps according to the HTML and CSS specs and have the browsers play catch up, unfortunately Joe User on his Windows box refusing to use anything except IE will still complain when it doesn’t look 100%. It really is such a pain making something work on every browser, then having to spend time coming up with stupid hacks just so it works in IE.

Thankfully frameworks and libraries like like Apache Wicket and jQuery are taking some of this pain away with neat, cross-browser (and degradable) AJAX goodies 🙂

Anyway, back to Safari… I’m not a huge fan of the tabs being on top rather than hanging underneath though and I miss the blue progress bar in the address bar, so I just changed them:


defaults write com.apple.Safari DebugSafari4TabBarIsOnTop -bool NO
defaults write com.apple.Safari DebugSafari4IncludeToolbarRedesign -bool NO
defaults write com.apple.Safari DebugSafari4LoadProgressStyle -bool NO

One bug I did came across is file uploads don’t seem to work at all, clicking the ‘Choose File’ button does nothing. I’ll have to try it at home to rule out some proxy issue.

Now I mentioned Sakai in the title, better report on its compatibility… oh yeah, works fine! Everything looks just as it did in Safari 3 and I haven’t found any tools not working as they should!

One thought on “Safari 4 (and Sakai)

  1. UPDATE. I found that the file upload not working issue was caused by the SafariStand plugin. I don’t need it anymore (I don’t think I ever did ) so I removed it and uploads work fine now.

Leave a Reply

