Fixing a broken Eclipse

I recently performed an update of a few items in Eclipse. The first was updating my version from 3.4.0 to 3.4.2 which I did by finding the Eclipse Platform entry in Software Updates > Installed Software, and clicking update. It checked a few dependencies, did its thing, restarted, all ok.

I then ran Findbugs on Profile2 and it picked up some things that were silly (Unused fields when the field was actually used), so decided an update for Findbugs was in order. After it did it’s thing this time, and I restarted, I get a fatal error and it just shuts down. Great.
“The Eclipse executable launcher was unable to locate its companion shared library”
Considering this piece of software is essential for my work, it needed to be fixed. I wasn’t too keen on installing a completely new version and adding back in all my plugins.
I went hunting to find the cause.
Eclipse.app is actually a package, with the executable and configuration files inside it, and you can get to its guts by right-clicking/ctrl-clicking on /Applications/eclipse/Eclipse.app and choosing Show Package Contents.
Navigating into Contents/MacOS/ and you get the eclipse binary and the eclipse.ini config file. You can actually run the Eclipse app from here. So I tried that and got this:
/Applications/eclipse/Eclipse.app/Contents/MacOS/eclipse ; exit;
dlopen(../../../plugins/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.carbon.macosx_1.0.100.v20080509-1800, 2): image not found
I then opened eclipse.ini to see what was being loaded. Strangely enough, the same thing:
–launcher.library
../../../plugins/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.carbon.macosx_1.0.100.v20080509-1800
Navigating back to that path, ie /Applications/eclipse/plugins/… and having a look around, well, it was right, there was nothing at that location. There was however a similarly named folder, updated today. Conveniently coincidental?
I updated the path in eclipse.ini to be the updated one:
../../../plugins/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.carbon.macosx_1.0.101.R34x_v20080731
saved and launched the Eclipse binary again. Success!
Leave a Reply

