I’m running for the Sakai Foundation Board of Directors

I’m running in the election for the Sakai Foundation Board of Directors. Voting is now open, and all Sakai Foundation Institutional Representatives are able to vote. Voting closes on the 30th November.

Here’s why you should vote for me:

Being involved with both Jasig and the Sakai Foundation, I have a keen interest in the upcoming merger between the two organisations. I have a vision for strengthened and improved quality assurance and release management practices for both communities.

I recognise the large investment that institutions and commercial affiliates have made to the Sakai CLE and as such will seek to restore Foundation support and leadership for the CLE for many years to come.

With Sakai and uPortal being global efforts, internationalisation is the key for increased adoption and development around the world. This is a significant issue, even for English speaking countries. I endeavour to improve on the existing internationalisation efforts already underway within both communities, by increasing the number of languages supported, and improving the quality and coverage of existing translations.

I also have a vision for the Sakai Open Academic Environment to be a framework that facilitates innovation in online learning and collaboration. We’ve already turned a pivotal corner in the re-imagination of online learning environments, thanks to the foresight and dedication of our community. I will strive to deliver a product that redefines online learning and collaboration for the future.

There are tremendous challenges ahead. Our community is re-writing the rules for online academic and collaboration environments. My experience and passion for Sakai puts me in a strong position to help consolidate and focus our development efforts to create truly amazing products. I am confident that my knowledge and dedication will be valuable assets, and hope that you will support my election to the Sakai Foundation Board of Directors.

Best of luck also to the other two fabulous candidates, Seth Theriault and David Ackerman: http://sakaiproject.org/news/2011-sakai-board-directors-candidates

Leave a Reply

